RACOMAT – Risk Assessment COMbined with Automated Testing

The Challenge: Risks of complex ICT systems

Networked information and communication systems (ICT) conquer our daily lives and change the industry. Critical infrastructures, such as power grids or the banking system, are nowadays already heavily dependent on them. The importance of ICT systems will continue to rise with autonomous means of transport (e.g. autonomous cars and trains, drones) in the near future. The direct, existential well-being of persons is thereby increasingly entrusted to information and communication systems. The requirements for their security and reliability are correspondingly high.

In order to capture and minimize the risks, security-critical ICT systems should be subjected to careful risk management in accordance with the established industry standard ISO 31000. However, for complex systems, risk management can be very complex and difficult. While the subjective assessment of experienced experts can be an acceptable method for risk analysis in small scale, other approaches need to be chosen as size and complexity increase. One possibility for a more objective analysis is the use of security testing according to ISO 29119. However, the testing itself can also be complicated and expensive, in particular if unintended, unknown behavior is to be analyzed. Even highly unsafe systems provide many harmless test results, as long as the "wrong" test cases are created and executed.

The Idea

Combine risk assessment and security testing

One way to deal with these difficulties is to combine the different approaches and try to use the strengths. In a complex system, it is first necessary to carry out a high-level assessment of the risks based on experience and literature. In order to make this initial risk assessment more precise, it is possible to use security testing exactly where the first high-level risk image shows the greatest uncertainties. The objective test results can then be used to extend, refine or correct the previous risk image. Economically applicable to large complex ICT systems, however, this method is only provided with adequate tool support.

The RACOMAT Tool

RACOMAT is a risk management tool developed at Fraunhofer FOKUS which in particular combines risk assessment with security tests. The security test can be integrated directly into event simulations, which the RACOMAT tool uses to calculate risks. The RACOMAT Tool enables extensive automation from risk modeling to security testing. Existing databases, such as known threat scenarios, are used by the RACOMAT tool to ensure a high degree of reuse and to avoid errors.

The RACOMAT tool supports a component-based, compliant risk assessment. The tool uses intuitively understandable risk graphs to model and visualize a risk image. For risk analysis, known methods such as Fault Tree Analysis (FTA), event tree analysis (ETA) and the CORAS method can be used in combination in order to benefit from the different strengths of the individual processes.

The RACOMAT tool calculates how much effort is required for security testing in order to improve the quality of the risk image by reducing uncertainties, starting from a total budget for the risk assessment. The tool provides recommendations on how to use these resources. RACOMAT identifies and prioritizes relevant tests.

Automatic Security Testing

In order to be able to automate risk-based testing, a low-level risk assessment is required. For this, RACOMAT allows to model relations between artefacts from the risk analysis and elements of the investigated system. Specifically, the tool uses Threat Interfaces. These can represent components with their input and output interfaces as well as the associated potential weaknesses and hazards.

RACOMAT supports the allocation of potential vulnerabilities and threats with existing expertise from existing libraries such as MITER CAPEC and CWE or BSI IT Grundschutz. Experience values for important safety features - such as probabilities and consequences - are already included in this. Depending on the interface and technology, various potential vulnerabilities and threats are more relevant. The RACOMAT Tool automatically suggests the most relevant vulnerabilities and threat scenarios for identified Threat Interfaces. Thus, the analyst has only to go through a manageable checklist to ensure that nothing is overlooked.

The RACOMAT Tool performs automatic or at least semi-automatic testing using the Security Test Pattern. For typical attack scenarios, RACOMAT provides a catalog of predefined test patterns that can be instantiated without manual effort to test selected components. If there are no matching test patterns yet, new test patterns can be created in the RACOMAT Tool.

The observed test results are used in particular to calculate probabilities that attackers can trigger certain unintended events.

Dependencies and simulations of events

Through the intuitive drag and drop user interface, the RACOMAT tool allows direct relationships between artifacts of the risk analysis and the system model to be created. For typical artefacts, typical relations can also be used for the fully automatic expansion of the model. A precise modeling of dependencies between unintended events is possible with the RACOMAT tool. Weighted relations and gates are available to express how basic events can trigger other events.

The RACOMAT Tool uses Monte Carlo simulations to calculate probabilities of occurrence for dependent events. Randomly distributed input values are used in a large number of simple event simulations in order to be able to determine approximate entry probability values even in the case of complex dynamic interrelations, even if the exact calculation of the solution would be too difficult.

Iteratives Risiko Management
Iterative Risk Management Fraunhofer FOKUS

The RACOMAT Process

The RACOMAT Tool suggests an iterative approach to risk assessment. An initial, coarse risk image is gradually improved in several rounds. The concepts of risk-based security testing (RBST) and test-based risk assessment (TBRA), i.e. the improvement of risk assessment using safety tests, are combined:

1. Develop the initial risk model based on literature, empirical values and expert assessment

2. Use event simulations to calculate the consequences and overall risks of threats

3. Select threat scenarios with the greatest uncertainties that are to be analyzed more closely using security tests

4. Generate required test cases

5. Perform tests and use the results to improve the risk model

6. Once again, use an improved risk model to carry out event simulations in order to determine overall risks more precisely

Continue with step 3 until the budget for the risk analysis is exhausted

7. Final risk evaluation and measures to reduce unacceptably high risks

Support for higher management

Event simulations are not restricted to technical safety-critical events in the RACOMAT Tool. The tool is also suitable for simulating business processes. In the risk assessment, this can be particularly useful for analyzing the indirect effects of technical incidents on the business processes.
A more compact presentation with a focus on the economic aspects makes sense for further risk management, i.e. for risk assessment and risk handling. The RACOMAT Tool provides the management with a dashboard and functions to plan and control risk management. Final, the risks are expressed as costs per time, so they are also tangible for non-technical managers.

Domains-specific assistance

The use of domains-specific information provides further opportunities for support for large organizations. A plug-in has already been developed for the finance and banking sector, which actively supports the modeling of the business scenarios in BPMN and the association with the domains-specific technical infrastructure.

In future, wizards for other domains should also be developed and deployed as plug-ins for the RACOMAT tool.

RACOMAT – Risiko Assessment kombiniert mit automatischen Sicherheitstests

Die Herausforderung: Risiken komplexer ICT-Systeme

Vernetzte Informations- und Kommunikationssysteme (ICT) erobern unseren Alltag und verändern die Industrie. Kritische Infrastrukturen, wie etwa Stromnetze oder das Bankensystem, sind von ihnen bereits heute hochgradig abhängig. Die Bedeutung von ICT-Systemen wird mit autonomen Transportmitteln (z. B. autonomen Autos und Zügen, Drohnen) in naher Zukunft weiter steigen. Das unmittelbare, existenzielle Wohl von Personen wird damit verstärkt Informations- und Kommunikationssystemen anvertraut. Entsprechend hoch sind die Anforderungen an deren Sicherheit und Zuverlässigkeit.
Um die Risiken zu erfassen und zu minimieren, sollten sicherheitskritische ICT-Systeme einem sorgfältigen Risiko Management nach dem etablierten Industrie-Standard ISO 31000 unterworfen werden. Für komplexe Systeme kann das Risiko Management jedoch sehr aufwendig und schwierig sein. Während die subjektive Einschätzung erfahrener Experten im Kleinen eine akzeptable Methode zur Risikoanalyse sein kann, müssen bei zunehmender Größe und Komplexität andere Ansätze gewählt werden. Eine Möglichkeit zu einer objektiveren Analyse besteht im Einsatz von Security Testing nach ISO 29119. Jedoch kann das Testen an sich auch kompliziert und teuer sein, insbesondere wenn ungewolltes, unbekanntes Verhalten analysiert werden soll. Selbst höchst unsichere Systeme liefern viele unbedenklich scheinende Testergebnisse, sofern die „falschen“ Testfälle erstellt und ausgeführt werden.

Die Idee

Risiko Assessment und Security Testing kombinieren

Eine Möglichkeit, mit diesen Schwierigkeiten umzugehen, besteht darin, die verschiedenen Ansätze zu kombinieren und zu versuchen, jeweils die Stärken zu nutzen. Konkret bietet es sich bei einem komplexen System an, zunächst von Experten eine High-Level-Abschätzung der Risiken basierend auf Erfahrung und Literatur durchführen zu lassen. Um dieses initiale Risiko-Assessment genauer zu machen, kann versucht werden, Security Testing genau dort einzusetzen, wo das erste High-Level-Risikobild die größten Unsicherheiten aufweist. Die objektiven Testergebnisse können dann benutzt werden, um das bisherige Risikobild zu erweitern, zu verfeinern oder zu korrigieren. Wirtschaftlich anwendbar für große komplexe ICT-Systeme wird diese Methode jedoch erst mit angemessener Tool-Unterstützung.

RACOMAT

Das Tool

RACOMAT ist ein bei Fraunhofer FOKUS entwickeltes Werkzeug für das Risiko-Management, welches insbesondere das Risiko Assessment mit Sicherheitstests kombiniert. Das Sicherheitstesten kann dabei unmittelbar in Ereignis-Simulationen eingebunden werden, welche das RACOMAT Tool zur Berechnung von Risiken nutzt.

Das RACOMAT Tool ermöglicht eine weitgehende Automatisierung von der Risikomodellierung bis hin zum Sicherheitstesten. Bestehende Datenbanken etwa von bekannten Bedrohungsszenarien werden vom RACOMAT Tool genutzt, um ein hohes Maß an Wiederverwendung sicherzustellen und Fehler zu vermeiden.

Mit dem RACOMAT-Tool wird ein komponentenbasiertes, kompositionales Risiko Assessment unterstützt. Dabei werden im Tool intuitiv verständliche Risikographen verwendet, um ein Bild der Risikolage zu modellieren und zu visualisieren. Für die Risikoanalyse können bekannte Verfahren wie Fault Tree Analysis (FTA), Event Tree Analysis (ETA) und die CORAS Methode in Kombination eingesetzt werden, um von den verschiedenen Stärken der einzelnen Verfahren profitieren zu können.

Ausgehend von einem Gesamtbudget für das Risiko Assessment berechnet das RACOMAT Tool, wie viel Aufwand für das Security Testen sinnvoll ist, um die Qualität des Risikobildes durch Reduktion von Unsicherheiten zu verbessern. Das Tool gibt Empfehlungen, wie diese Mittel eingesetzt werden sollen. Dafür identifiziert RACOMAT relevante Tests und priorisiert diese.

Automatisches Security Testing

Um ein risikobasiertes Testen automatisieren zu können, ist ein Low-Level Risiko Assessment nah an der Technik erforderlich. Dazu erlaubt RACOMAT, Relationen zwischen Artefakten aus der Risikoanalyse und Elementen des untersuchten Systems zu modellieren. Konkret nutzt das Tool dazu Threat Interfaces. Diese können Komponenten mit ihren Eingabe- und Ausgabeschnittstellen sowie den zugehörigen potenziellen Schwachstellen und Gefährdungen repräsentieren.

RACOMAT unterstützt das Zuordnen von potenziellen Schwachstellen und Gefährdungen mit vorhandenem Expertenwissen aus bestehenden Bibliotheken wie MITRE CAPEC und CWE oder BSI IT-Grundschutz. Erfahrungswerte für wichtige Sicherheitseigenschaften – wie Wahrscheinlichkeiten und Konsequenzen – sind darin bereits enthalten. Je nach Interface und Technologie sind verschiedene potenzielle Schwachstellen und Bedrohungen relevanter. Das RACOMAT Tool schlägt für identifizierte Threat Interfaces automatisch jeweils die relevantesten Schwachstellen und Bedrohungsszenarien vor. So muss der Analyst nur eine handhabbare Checkliste durchgehen, um sicherzustellen, dass nichts übersehen wird.

Automatisches oder zumindest semi-automatisches Testen realisiert das RACOMAT Tool mithilfe von Security Test Pattern. Für typische Bedrohungsszenarien (Attack Pattern) bietet RACOMAT einen Katalog mit vordefinierten Test Pattern, welche ohne manuellen Aufwand instanziiert werden können, um ausgewählte Komponenten zu testen. Wenn noch keine passenden Test Pattern existieren, können im RACOMAT Tool neue Test Pattern erstellt werden.

Die beobachteten Testergebnisse werden insbesondere dafür benutzt, um Wahrscheinlichkeiten dafür zu berechnen, dass Angreifer bestimmte ungewollte Ereignisse auslösen können.

Abhängigkeiten und Simulationen von Ereignissen

Durch das intuitive Drag and Drop Userinterface können mit dem RACOMAT Tool direkt Relationen zwischen Artefakten der Risikoanalyse und des Systemmodells erschaffen werden. Für bekannte Artefakte können typische Relationen auch zur vollautomatischen Erweiterung des Modells genutzt werden. Eine präzise Modellierung von Abhängigkeiten zwischen ungewollten Ereignissen ist mit dem RACOMAT Tool möglich. Um auszudrücken, wie Basisereignisse andere Ereignisse auslösen können, stehen gewichtete Relationen und Gates zur Verfügung.
Um für abhängige Ereignisse Wahrscheinlichkeiten des Eintritts zu berechnen, verwendet das RACOMAT Tool Monte Carlo Simulationen. Dabei werden zufällig verteilte Eingabewerte in einer großen Anzahl von einfachen Ereignis-Simulationen verwendet, um auch bei komplexen dynamischen Zusammenhängen Näherungswerte für abhängige Eintrittswahrscheinlichkeiten bestimmen zu können – selbst, wenn das exakte Berechnen der Lösung zu schwierig wäre.
Iteratives Risiko Management
Iteratives Risiko Management Fraunhofer FOKUS

Der RACOMAT Prozess

Das RACOMAT Tool legt eine iterative Vorgehensweise beim Risiko-Assessment nahe. Ein initiales, grobes Risikobild wird dabei in mehreren Runden schrittweise verbessert. Die Konzepte Risk-Based Security Testing (RBST, also die Optimierung des Sicherheitstestens mithilfe des Risiko Assessments) und Test-Based Risk Assessment (TBRA, also die Verbesserung des Risiko Assessments mithilfe von Sicherheitstests) werden dabei vereint:

1. Initiales Risikomodell basierend auf Literatur, Erfahrungswerten und Experteneinschätzungen entwickeln

2. Ereignissimulationen nutzen, um die Konsequenzen und Gesamtrisiken von Bedrohungen zu berechnen

3. Bedrohungsszenarien mit den größten Unsicherheiten auswählen, welche mithilfe von Sicherheitstests genauer analysiert werden sollen

4. Erforderliche Testfälle generieren

5. Tests ausführen und mithilfe der Ergebnisse das Risikomodell verbessern

6. Mit verbessertem Risikomodell erneut Ereignissimulationen durchführen, um Gesamtrisiken genauer zu ermitteln

Weiter mit Schritt 3, bis das Budget für die Risikoanalyse aufgebraucht ist

7. Finale Risikoevaluation und Maßnahmen zur Reduktion unakzeptabel hoher Risiken

Unterstützung des höheren Managements

Ereignissimulationen sind beim RACOMAT Tool nicht auf technische sicherheitskritische Ereignisse beschränkt. Das Tool eignet sich auch, um Businessprozesse zu simulieren. Im Risiko Assessment kann dies insbesondere sinnvoll sein, um die indirekten Auswirkungen technischer Vorfälle auf die Geschäftsprozesse zu analysieren.
Für ein weitergehendes Risiko Management, also für die Risikobewertung und Risikobehandlung, ist eine kompaktere Darstellung mit Fokussierung auf die wirtschaftlichen Aspekte sinnvoll. Das RACOMAT Tool bietet dem Management dazu ein Dashboard und Funktionen, um auch die Risikobehandlung zu planen und zu kontrollieren. Final werden die Risiken als Kosten pro Zeit ausgedrückt, sodass sie auch für nicht-technische Manager greifbar werden.

Domainspezifische Assistenz durch RACOMAT

Die Nutzung von domainspezifischen Informationen bietet weitergehende Möglichkeiten zur Unterstützung für große Organisationen. So wurde bereits für den Finanz- und Bankenbereich ein Plug-In entwickelt, welches die Modellierung der Business Szenarien in BPMN und die Assoziation mit der domainspezifischen technischen Infrastruktur aktiv unterstützt.

In Zukunft sollen auch für andere Domains entsprechende Assistenten als Plug-Ins für das RACOMAT Tool entwickelt und bereitgestellt werden.