Smart Mobility Lab

The business unit smart mobility has a long-term expertise on both secure vehicle-to-X and vehicle-to-infrastructure communication. In our lab, the institute’s parking garage as well as different Berlin testbeds, we experiment with realistic simulations of vehicle-to-vehicle-based applications. Apart from our vehicle-oriented work, we do research on communication technologies such as 5G and Artificial Intelligence (AI) that enable autonomous driving. In addition to that, we road-test our simulated data under real life conditions using camera/lidar-equipped cars.

To cope with future mobility’s demands, it is not sufficient to solely take single vehicles into consideration. Researchers, therefore, work on a holistic-connected traffic planning that involves pedestrians, cyclists and public transportation. Only by this, a sustainable and user-centered future mobility can be ensured.

Offer:

  • Consultancy and development services for connected and automated mobility
  • Analysis and evaluation of large-scale, located data (big data)
  • Localization and environmental perception via LIDAR and camera systems
  • Validation of prototypes regarding standards compliance and their impact with the help of simulations
  • Running of field tests

Target audience:

  • Automotive companies
  • Supplier
  • Startup companies
  • Federal ministries/authorities
  • Traffic management offices

Solutions

VSimRTI – Virtual Testing Of Connected And Automated Driving

The aim of the VSimRTI project is to make the preparation and execution of simulations as easy as possible for the users, hence, a comprehensive framework for simulator integration was created that facilitates the simulation of Smart Mobility scenarios. By coupling different simulators, the multi-aspect simulation environment enables the simulation of the various aspects of future Intelligent transportation systems. Consequently, VSimRTI simulations allow the analysis of novel mobility solutions before real field tests start.

FLLT – Fraunhofer-Lidar-Labeling-Tool

Before a vehicle is able to drive properly, it must have the ability to see independently and recognise objects accordingly. FLLT supports AI-Developer, labeling experts and software developer from automotive companies and supplier as well as sensor manufacturer to analyze and annotate image data from cameras and Lidar laser scanners.

Indoor Navigation System

The Smart Mobility indoor navigation system enables pedestrians to navigate themselves through buildings accessibly and precisely – in hospitals, train stations, airports, administration buildings, shopping malls or a big company building complex.


Related Links:

Smart Mobility Lab

Der Geschäftsbereich Smart Mobility besitzt langjährige Expertise im Bereich der sicheren Fahrzeug-zu-Fahrzeug- und Fahrzeug-zu-Infrastruktur-Kommunikation. Im Lab, im Parkhaus des Instituts sowie in verschiedenen Berliner Testfeldern werden neben realistischen Simulationen von Fahrzeug-zu-X-basierten Anwendungen Kommunikationstechnologien wie 5G sowie Künstliche Intelligenz für das autonome Fahren erforscht und praktisch erprobt.

Um den Anforderungen der Mobilität in Zukunft gerecht zu werden, ist es nicht ausreichend, nur das Auto zu betrachten. Die Forscherinnen und Forscher arbeiten daher an einer ganzheitlich vernetzten Verkehrsplanung, die auch Fußgänger, Radfahrer und den öffentlichen Nahverkehr einbezieht. Nur so kann eine nachhaltige und nutzerzentrierte Mobilität in Zukunft gewährleistet werden.

Angebot:

  • Beratungs- und Entwicklungsdienstleistungen im Bereich vernetzter und automatisierter Mobilität
  • Auswertung und Analyse von großen, verorteten Datenmengen (Big Data)
  • Lokalisierung und Umgebungswahrnehmung mit LIDAR und bildgebenden Systemen
  • Validierung von Prototypen hinsichtlich Standardkonformität und ihrer Wirkung mit Hilfe von Simulationen
  • Durchführung von Feldtests

Zielgruppen:

  • Automobilhersteller
  • Zulieferer
  • Start-ups
  • Ministerien/Behörden
  • Verkehrsmanagementzentralen 

Lösungen

VSimRTI – Virtual Testing Of Connected And Automated Driving

Ziel dieser virtuellen Umgebung ist es, die Vorbereitung und Ausführung von Simulationen so einfach wie möglich für den Nutzer zu machen. Daher wurde eine umfassende Rahmenstruktur zur Integration von einzelnen Simulatoren entworfen, die die Simulation von Smart-Mobility-Szenarien erleichtert. Durch die Kopplung verschiedener Simulatoren ermöglicht VSimRTI die Simulation diverser Aspekte eines intelligenten, zukünftigen Transportsystems, bevor diese unter realen Feldbedingungen getestet werden.

FLLT – Fraunhofer-Lidar-Labeling-Tool

Bevor ein Fahrzeug autonom unterwegs sein wird, muss es selbständig »sehen« und Objekte erkennen können. Das Fraunhofer-Lidar-Labeling-Tool, genannt »FLLT«, unterstützt KI-Entwickler, Labeling-Experten und Software-Entwickler der Automobilbauer und deren Zulieferer sowie Sensorhersteller dabei, Bilddaten von Kameras und Lidar-Sensoren zu analysieren und zu annotieren.

Indoor-Navigation – Hochpräzise Indoor-Navigation auf dem Smartphone

Das Fraunhofer FOKUS Indoor-Navigations-System ermöglicht Smartphone-Nutzern, sich innerhalb von Gebäuden genau und barrierefrei navigieren zu lassen – sei es im Krankenhaus, Bahnhof, Flughafen, einer Behörde oder in einem Einkaufszentrum oder in einem großen Firmenkomplex.


Weiterführende Links: